The Professional Quarter Life Crisis Predicament

There comes a point in everyone’s life where you hit a wall. You are just chugging along and thinking everything is fine…, then all of a sudden – BAM. Wall.

Some people panic:

“Oh my god! What happened? Do I have all my limbs? I’m dead, aren’t I? I’m dead and I’ve gone to heaven. Or… Is this hell?” *looks around* “Shit…”

Other people make the most of it:

“Well, I was kind of tired anyway. Maybe I’ll just sit down for a bit.”

Still, others will become desperate to get out of their situation.

Now, I’m not literally talking about walking smack-dab into a wall, of course. What I’m talking about are what are normally called “mid life crisis”. These are situations where we feel as though we haven’t accomplished what we need or want to have accomplished by our forties and fifties. In addition to that, people (women in particular) have a tendency of also experiencing a quarter life crisis. This occurs in the late twenties and is normally triggered by a lack of success in either career or relationship status.

(TL;DR: men and women freak out when they aren’t married or have direction in their professional lives by their thirties.)

Having just been married, I haven’t been going through that and in order to avoid this situation all together, I’ve been working on a little experiment.

Professional dissatisfaction is usually caused by the feeling of being unappreciated at work or a disappointment in your current position at work. Luckily for me, I get to do what I love everyday. I am my own boss and (if I say so myself) I’m a pretty awesome boss. Because of that, I feel appreciated at work.

As for “being disappointed in my current position at work” I wouldn’t agree with that either. However, I feel as though I won’t actually be satisfied with my work for a long time. Something like your career should always be a work in progress for a long time. I believe that to be one of the ways that we can stay interested in one field for so long: constant successes, reaching short terms goals in line with a long term goal.

With that in mind, I have created – what I like to call – my FREELANCE WRITING BUCKET LIST. Since I work in a field which splits into hundreds of different specialties, I’ve compiled a list of projects and contracts that I would like to work on over the next two years. Along with my personal five-year plan, I have also come up with a professional five-year plan. I have also broken that down into five one-year plans. Then, I broke it down even further.

Among the items of this list are:

  • Crowdfund My Creative Writing for Publication,
  • Write a Newsletter,
  • Compose a White Paper,
  • Sell My Poetry,
  • Contribute to Alternate Weeklies,
  • Get Published in a Mainstream Magazine
  • Contribute to a Travel Guide,
  • Etc.

In addition to my FREELANCE WRITING BUCKET LIST I have also composed a FICTION WRITING BUCKET LIST. I’m certain that with short and long term goals in various aspects of my work, I will continue to improve, hone my craft, and keep my vigor for the written word.

I hope that all of you have the same enthusiasm for your work. Do you have a five-year plan for work? Do you have both short term and long term goals?

Love, Joy

Leave a Reply

