Post-NaNoWriMo Coma, Weekend Hijinks, Christmas Crafts, and Doctor Who Windows

“Be ruthless about protecting writing days, i.e., do not cave in to endless requests to have ‘essential’ and ‘long overdue’ meetings on those days.” – J.K. Rowling

 

Hello everyone!

I’ve been busy busy at work and re-prioritizing my time after NaNoWriMo. I’m happy to announce that I am a NaNo winner again this year. After November ended, I had three finished stories and a handful of half-finished pieces – which I’m debating on throwing out the window. Not only that, I also found myself drained of all things fiction.

To help overcome this “writers block” of sorts (it’s actually called a “lack of motivation”) I have been reading voraciously and have been looking through prompts and open submission calls from fiction magazines.

 

Weekend Hijinks

This weekend is the last WWII reenactment of the year. Jake will be going out with his unit and I will hole myself up in a bunk/hotel room with my laptop, a pen, notebook, caffeine, and no Wi-Fi to distract me. There will be F-I-C-T-I-O-N!

 

Christmas Crafts

Christmas is one of my favorite holidays. Sure the traffic sucks and people get pushy for material things but if you really break it down to the bare essentials, Christmas is a wonderfully warm holiday (despite the snow).

One of my favorite things to do is to create my own Christmas decorations and traditions. Jake’s family and I head over to Dancing Brush (the paint your own pottery studio) and paint an ornament every year. Since we (Jake and I – not his family) are ornament-less, we hit the after Christmas sales for unique ornaments for our big tree next year.

In addition to that, I love to make decorations. What kind of decorations? Check out this festive blog post for an example of the things that I like to do. This year, I’m totally making that music sheet, glitter garland. Talk about cute!

Image from "OC Cottage"

Image from “OC Cottage”

Doctor Who and Windows 8

Okay, so while I’m not the owner of this image, I would just like to leave this here because Windows 8 and I have this kind of relationship:

Oh, Nine!

Oh, Nine!

 

Nine will always have a special place in my heart because he was my first doctor. Anyhow, I hope that everyone has a fun and productive weekend.

Love, Joy

One thought on “Post-NaNoWriMo Coma, Weekend Hijinks, Christmas Crafts, and Doctor Who Windows

Leave a Reply

