How Long It Takes to Read The World’s Most Popular Books

Today I want to talk about reading and the importance of reading…for everyone. As a writer, I know how important it is to read a variety of books: different genres, different authors, and different eras. By doing this, I am able to learn about what makes a good book in addition to finding new story techniques that I enjoy and can use in my own writing.

It’s not just important for writers though. It is important for everyone. Reading enhances your:

  • Mental stimulation
  • Concentration
  • Vocabulary
  • Memory
  • Focus
  • Knowledge base
  • Analytic Thinking Skills

And reduces your:

  • Stress level
  • Ignorant comments about unimportant things on the internet*

*not always true

It’s also free.What?” I can hear you say. “Books can be so expensive at B&N!” Yes, this is true.

It is also true that books are free at the library. You know, as long as you turn them in on time or check them out again. There’s always a caveat, isn’t there?

I’ll be the first to admit that I have a tendency of forgetting about the benefits of the library. When I rediscover it every year I always end up looking like a kid in a candy store. It’s a thrill. Not to mention, a great place to work if you’re like me and need a bit of silence in order to make a deadline.

The only thing that keeps me from reading my weight in books every day is the fact that I’m extremely busy – just like you are, I’m sure. Who has the time to engulf book after book, right? The answer (of course) is everyone. Everyone has the time to read. Even just fifteen minutes a day – like during your lunch break – is enough to finish a book in a couple weeks. Not convinced? Check out this awesome article from Short List before you decide to shred your library card.

Go ahead and pick up a book at your local library or second-hand store (I’m big on used book stores. They are like the orphans of the literary world.). So tell me, what book are you going to read next?

Love,

Joy

 

Sources:

LifeHack: http://www.lifehack.org/articles/lifestyle/10-benefits-reading-why-you-should-read-everyday.html

Leave a Reply

